The Hebrew Bible (which is often referred to by Biblical scholars using the Latin term Biblia Hebraica) refers to the Tanakh (Jewish textual collection) or Old Testament (Christian textual collection) scriptures.

Questions about specific texts should only be tagged with the name of the text. This tag is reserved for questions related to a collection of texts within the Hebrew Bible rather than only one individual text within this collection. The final, authoritative written form of the Hebrew Bible is usually refered to as the .

The texts considered to comprise the Hebrew Bible are all extant Hebrew, Aramaic, Coptic, Greek, and Latin manuscripts of the following texts:

Torah (Books of Moses)

  • Genesis
  • Exodus
  • Leviticus
  • Numbers
  • Deuteronomy

The Samaritan Pentateuch is also included.

Nevi'im (Prophets)

  • Joshua
  • Judges
  • Kingdoms (I - IV)
    • Samuel (I & II)
    • Kings (I & II)
  • Isaiah
  • Jeremiah
  • Ezekiel
  • Twelve Prophets
    • Hosea
    • Joel
    • Amos
    • Obadiah
    • Jonah
    • Micah
    • Nahum
    • Habakkuk
    • Zephaniah
    • Haggai
    • Zechariah
    • Malachi

Kethuvim (Writings)

  • Psalms
  • Proverbs
  • Job
  • The Song of Songs
  • Ruth
  • Lamentations
  • Ecclesiastes
  • Esther
  • Daniel
  • Ezra-Nehemiah / Esdras (I & II)
  • Chronicles / Paraleipomenon (I & II)

Care should be taken to clearly refer to relevant sections of the Hebrew Bible as chapter and verse sections as well as the order of content is not consistent between many translations, manuscripts, and critical texts.

history | show excerpt | excerpt history